Snow

It’s a cold and wintery night.  I thought it was going to be the first full fledged snowstorm of the season but it petered out, first changing to rain, and then stopping altgether.  This after the forecast said to expect 3 or 4 inches of snow.  Well it’s OK with me – after all, one of the reasons for leaving Lake Tahoe was to go somewhere that had less snow.  I love snow, and for about 25 years, welcomed it, played in it, and drove many miles through it on my way to and from work.  But now it just interferes with gardening, although I do have to admit that it still can be breathtakingly beautiful.

The first winter that Dick and I were here, it felt like we were still at Tahoe.  It was the biggest winter for at least 10 years, according to the locals.  We were pretty glad that we had brought the snowblower along with us.  But last year there was much less snow, and was, I discovered, much more severe for the garden.  I knew that, of course, that snowcover keeps the ground warmer, and makes life easier for the plants, but at Tahoe it was really not an issue, because it was rare that there was not snowcover.  Last winter here I lost a few plants, even those that are supposed to easily survive a low of -2, and I’m sure it was because they were young, the wind was fierce, and the ground was bare of snow.  I thought about trying some of that spray on antifreeze for plants this year, but I haven’t got around to buying it. A part of me thinks that I shouldn’t really try to grow plants that are not tough enough to survive without help. The other part wants them anyway.

What will this winter bring?  I guess I’ll know in about April.

After a storm, at home in South Lake Tahoe

first winter at home at Agency Lake

Leave a Reply

