Early Season Color from Leaves

ChiloquinNews article 5/23/2011

At this time of year when there are so few flowers open, I look for color wherever I can find it, and I have been quite excited to find a combination appearing in my garden that was not planned. Those tenacious Johnny Jump-Ups have a habit of seeding themselves all over the place and I never pull them up unless they are in the vegetable garden. This year they have taken over the border around my pond, and the dark purple flowers in combination with the luminescent bright yellow leaves of Golden Creeping Jenny (Lysimachia nummularia ‘Aurea’’) are really beautiful. I could never have planned anything quite so lovely.

 There are quite a few leaves that will color up your garden before the flowers begin, ranging through shades of burgundy, silver gray, yellow, white, and of course, green and in many varied combinations. Here are some that grow well in this area.

 

Russian Forget-me-Not or Siberian bugloss (Brunnera macrophylla 'Jack Frost')

 

Iris pallida 'Variegata' Variegated Sweet Iris

 

Sedum rupestre 'Angelina'Sedum ‘Autumn Joy’

 

emerging Peony leaves Hen and Chicks (Sempervivum)

 

Hen and Chicks (Sempervivum)